A school in symbiosis with the promotion of its home city

A partner of the OnlyLyon Tourism Trophies, the Vatel Lyon General Director presented the "Lion Coup de Coeur" Trophy as a jury member. Let’s go back to this event which brought together 600 professionals and had 11 prize winners.

A school in symbiosis with the promotion of its home city

With an amazing 830 members, OnlyLyon Tourisme et Congres [OnlyLyonTourism and Conferences] is striving to enhance the city’s attractiveness, while constantly endeavoring to improve visitor satisfaction.

This is the context in which the Greater Lyon Tourism and Convention Bureau decided to partner with the local paper, Le Progres, to launch the first OnlyLyon Tourism Trophies which would:

  • Highlight actions currently rolled out which boost Lyon’s attractiveness
  • Encourage new excellence initiatives

At the heart of tourism in Lyon, the Vatel School in Lyon was quite naturally requested to sponsor this event and participate in the jury to shortlist competitors.


10 categories and 1 Trophy presented by Vatel

OnlyLyon Tourism TrophiesThe Accommodations Excellence Destination Trophy:  Slo Living Hostel represented by Julien Routil, the Manager and Cofounder, presented by Marc Speisser, the Rhone-Alps Auvergne Elis General Manager.

The Front Desk Excellence Destination Trophy:  Aeroports de Lyon [Lyon Airports], represented by Philippe Bernard, the President of the Lyon Airports Board of Administration, presented by Thierry Roussel, the Novotel Lyon Confluence Hotel General Manager.

The Cultural Heritage Trophy:  The Mercure Lyon Centre Chateau Perrache, represented by Marta Pardo-Badier, the General Manager, presented by Alain Galliano, the Vice-President of the Greater Lyon Metropolis, in charge of international relationships and attractiveness.

The Restaurant Excellence Destination Trophy:  The Bouchons Lyonnais represented by Joseph Viola, President of the Association and Benoit Josserand, Treasurer of the Association, presented by by Anne-Sophie Condemine, President of the Association, and a Deputy Mayor of Lyon, in charge of employment.

The Nightlife Excellence Destination Trophy:   Le Sucre, represented by Cedric Denoyel, the General Manager and Cedrick Dujardin, the Manager, presented by Francois Gaillard, the OnlyLyon Tourism and Conventions General Manager.

The Tourism / Culture Excellence Destination Trophy: The Cinema and Miniatures Museum, represented by Dan Ohlmann, the Founder and General Manager, presented by by Pierre Fanneau, the Progres Group General Manager.

The Shopping Excellence Destination Trophy: Les Puces du Canal represented by Jacques Chalvin, its President and General Manager, presented by by Jean-Michel Daclin, the President of OnlyLyon Tourism and Conventions.

The Events Excellence Destination Trophy: The Lyon Festival of Lights represented by Jean-Francois Zurawik, who manages this event, Gilles Flouret and Romain Tamayo, project leaders, presented by Mikael Lemarchand, who manages the Eurostar Train Stations.

The Winter Sports Excellence Destination Trophy: The Val Thorens ski resort, represented by Gregory Guzzo, the General Manager, presented by Alain Le Corno, President of the Regional Committee and Treasurer for the French Ski Federation.

The Rhone-Alps Site Excellence Destination Trophy: Le pas dans le vide, represented by Fabienne Martinez, the Communications and Press Room Officer for Compagnie du Mont Blanc, presented by Emmanuel Visentin, the Parc des Oiseaux Manager.

And the Jury's Coup de Coeur [Jury’s Best Pick] Trophy: Lyon City Boat, represented by Sylvain Rosier, the CEO and Jean-Marc Provent, the Manager, presented by Karine Benzazon, the Vatel Lyon General Director.